Organisational chart

Non-Executive Directors
Edward Cheng
CHENG Wai Sun, Edward, GBS, JP
From 1 Jan 2017
Current appointment expires on 31 Dec 2022

Mr Cheng is a Non-Executive Director of the Securities and Futures Commission (SFC). He is currently the Deputy Chairman and Chief Executive of Wing Tai Properties Limited and the Chairman of Lanson Place Hospitality Management Limited. He is also an Independent Non-Executive Director of Standard Chartered Bank (Hong Kong) Limited.  

A qualified solicitor in England and Wales as well as in Hong Kong, Mr Cheng practised for several years at a major law firm in London, specialising in corporate finance and mergers and acquisitions. In 1995, he founded SUNDAY Communications Limited which he co-chaired until 2005.

Mr Cheng has been active in public service. He is a member of the Chief Executive's Council of Advisers on Innovation and Strategic Development. He is also the Council Chairman of the Hong Kong Academy for Performing Arts. Previously, Mr Cheng was the Chairman of the Urban Renewal Authority and the University Grants Committee, and a board member of the Airport Authority Hong Kong. He served on the Commission on Strategic Development, the Steering Committee on Innovation and Technology, the Independent Commission Against Corruption’s Operations Review Committee and Advisory Committee on Corruption, the Executive Committee of the Hong Kong Housing Society and the Councils of the Hong Kong Institute of Education, the City University of Hong Kong, the Hong Kong Polytechnic University, and the Hong Kong Institute of Certified Public Accountants.

Mr Cheng graduated from Cornell University with a bachelor’s degree in political science and economics, and earned a bachelor’s degree in jurisprudence and a master’s degree from Oxford University. He has been conferred Honorary Fellow by the City University of Hong Kong.

Mr Cheng sits on the SFC's Budget Committee, Remuneration Committee, SFC (HKEC Listing) Appeals Committee, Takeovers and Mergers Panel and the Takeovers Appeal Committee.

Last update: 17 Jan 2022

We use cookies to improve the website performance and user experience. If you continue to use this website, you are agreeing to their uses. Learn more about our privacy policy.